PCM: R.E.M. Phase

PCM is a trio of musicians consisting of Francesco Perra (P), Matteo Cantaluppi (C), and Matteo Milea (M). The band explores various aspects of ambient music, drawing inspiration from different sub-genres and artists, with collective influence ranging from the serene sounds of Brian Eno, Fennesz, and Basinski, to the darker found in the works of Tangerine Dream, Popul Vuh or Pink Floyd. The members of PCM also find common ground in the works of filmmaker Andrej Tarkovskij and the artistic expressions of painters Lucio Fontana and Anselm Kiefer.

Their new offering, R.E.M. Phase, is part of their upcoming album, Dreamland, coming out on September 15th, 2023 via n5MD. The full length departs from PCM's previous focus on inter-cellular themes and instead delineates a fundamental aspect of human existence: sleep. 

Each track on Dreamland explores a different phase of sleep, capturing experiences fluctuating from the state of half-awake consciousness to the tranquil state of rapid eye movement sleep. 

R.E.M. Phase effectively captures a sense of floating and succeeds in the band's objective of translating the experience of sleep into soothing and compelling music.

PCM Spotify | Instagram

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form