D//E Playlist: Stream And Destroy Vol. 24

The first Stream And Destroy playlist in two months finds the world still in a maddened kind of state, while the good music kept on coming from the underground. The new volume compiles a dozen of those tracks we didn't cover in a regular manner, ranging from punk to electronic post rock.

The great Thurston Moore introduced his new album, By the Fire, with the driving and rather trippy, Hashish, which has all the characteristic of a new doper anthem. The coming record will feature the contribution of an all-star lineup with members from Sonic Youth, My Bloody Valentine and more, and it has certainly made a great first impression through its first single.

A couple of the greatest punk bands in the world right now are both prepping their anticipated new albums. IDLESUltra Mono is due out in September, and Protomartyr’s Ultimate Success Today will be out mid-July, and both records have built up hype with some solid lead ins.

From California’s Ceremony, Ross Farrar and Jake Casarotti formed Spice, a more post punk inclined act which also features members from Creative Adult, Sabertooth Zombie and more. Their self-titled LP is expected out through Dais Records on July 17th, 2020.

London’s Modern Rituals released their album This Is The History in March 2020, and record full of noise rock and post hardcore grit and dynamism which made a strong release for both the band and Holy Roar Records.

Linnéa Olsson’s (Beastmilk, Grave Pleasures, The Oath) project Maggot Heart prepare to release its second album, Mercy Machine, and the first examples off it carry ample amounts of dark rock, hard rock and proto-punk dirt, while another strong sophomore LP, the one by Psychic Graveyard keeps delivering the goods, as A Bluebird Vacation is living up to the high standards set by the band’s first offerings.

Swedish dreampop band, Hater, are working on new material, and revealed a new track which comes from the sessions of their 2017 LP, You Tried. Also working on a new record are kiwi indie pop veterans, Dead Famous People, their first in almost thirty years, and have presented a couple of very tuneful first single off it.

Former members of Tigers Jaw are now releasing music as Pay For Pain, and their self-titled first EP has a traditional rock feel which placed them among the recent standouts.

Consistently on the rise, A.A, Williams, will be releasing her album Forever Blue in July, and by all appearances it is something very much worth keeping an eye on, while two acclaimed artists, Julianna Barwick and Jónsi of Sigur Rós collaborated on a really artful, tough to pinpoint piece with tendencies toward both post rock and electronica.

01. Thurston Moore - Hashish
02. IDLES - Grounds
03. Protomartyr - Michigan Hammers
04. SPICE - 26 DOGS
05. Modern Rituals - The Bull Never Wins
06. Maggot Heart - Mercy Machine
07. Psychic Graveyard - A Bluebird Vacation
08. Hater - Sift
09. Dead Famous People - Looking At Girls
10. Pay for Pain - Gatekeeper
11. A.A. Williams - Love And Pain
12. Julianna Barwick f/ Jónsi - In Light

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form