D//E Playlist: Stream And Destroy Vol. 15

May 2019 concludes this week, and another volume of Stream And Destroy comes compiling a dozen fresh tracks which weren't covered in detail, but are hunky dory and worth of many plays.

Emo greats, The Appleseed Cast, return with their first album in six years, introduced by a wonderfully titled and put together single, with a strong post rock direction, The Fleeting Light of Impermanence releases June 28th via Graveface Records.

Sydney three-piece, Narla, emerge with an immersive cut formulated on a not so usual psychedelic and krautrock foundation, while Swedish multi-instrumentalist, Hannes Glans, better known as Childmind, prepares the way for his upcoming LP on the always estimable Black Hair Records with a series of psych rockers, the latest of which is a dark story about the island of Gotland. Also from Sweden, Gentle Ivanhoe Death Skulls, keep evolving and exciting with the new gritty shoegazer that is their latest single, Cedric. Third Swedes in a row, Kluster, follow their debut, Civic, from last year with a venturous five minute cut, aptly titled, Wild.

With members from Priests and Downtown Boys among their ranks, DC's Gauche bring on their fine mixture of power pop and post punk on their first album, A People's History of Gauche, scheduled to come out July 12th, 2019 via Merge Records.

Dynamic four-piece, Girl Friday, will win you over at once with their fantastic new piece of power pop excellence, off their sophomore EP, Fashion Conman, out June 28th on Hardly Art.

Montreal's Men I Trust continue delivering dreampop brilliance at a very steady pace, and dreampop up and comers, Mirrorball, arrive with a much auspicious debut single on Dangerbird Records, setting things up to a perfect start.

Ohio post hardcore stalwarts, Citizen, follow their successful  As You Please LP from two years ago with a new single cut from the same indie nineties-inspired cloth, while a kind of an indie supergroup, Modern Nature featuring members from Beak>, Ultimate Painting and Woods, come forth much promisingly, expected to release their debut album on August 23rd, 2019 via Bella Union.

Philly punks, Mannequin Pussy, will be releasing their Will Yip-produced third album, Patience on June 21st, 2019 via Epitaph, and the very sharp first single, Who You Are, is an absolute winner.

01. The Appleseed Cast - Time The Destroyer
02. Narla - Till the Weather Changes
03. Childmind - Island of Lambs
04. Gentle Ivanhoe Death Skulls - Cedric
05. Kluster - Wild
06. Gauche - Pay Day
07. Girl Friday - Decoration/Currency
08. Men I Trust - Norton Commander (All We Need)
09. Mirrorball - This Time
10. Citizen - Big Mouth
11. Modern Nature - Peradam
12. Mannequin Pussy - Who You Are

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form