Stream And Destroy 06.18.21 // Weekly Roundup

Stream And Destroy is a weekly feature on D//E in which we round up tracks and releases we didn't cover canonically during the current week. It's complementary to our regular posts and publishes on Friday release day. Oddments from previous weeks may appear.

Lingua Ignota steps a little aside from the industrial sound of her previous records. Although the just announced, SINNER GET READY, continues the philosophy of CALIGULA and ALL BITCHES DIE, the sound is entirely based on a traditional foundation. The artist directed, shot, and edited the video for the first track, PENNSYLVANIA FURNACE, which is full of stunning landscapes and artful imagery.

Something cool has come out of the ashes of Creepoid. Philly’s Lovelorn have released a vibrant new video for their previously unveiled single, Sickness Reward. “The concept of the 'race' came quickly, as a means to translate the endless loop of struggle that is an eating disorder,” says the band’s Anna Troxell about the video. “I also wanted the runners to showcase competition and comparison, not only within the group, but also the internal conflict within myself.

Finnish quartet, Horte, revealed new song and video off their coming album on Pelagic Records. Väisty tieltä is a gripping track of heavy krautrock expansiveness and experimentation, and the haunting video which comes with it is absolutely striking.

Californian hardcore punks, DARE, return with Against All Odds, their new album on Revelation Records, coming August 20th, 2021. “Different Method is all about our dedication to straight edge and being in your face. It's one of my favorite tracks on the LP,” says vocalist Angel Garcia about the first single which comes with a video full of graffiti excellence.

Collaboration masters, HEALTH, have another new track to showcase, this time alongside Chino Moreno and film composer, Tyler Bates. ANTI-LIFE is part of the soundtrack for DC Comics' Dark Nights: Death Metal.

Chicago’s experimental noise rockers, Luggage, will be following Shift from 2019 with their fourth album, Happiness, arriving July 16th, 2021. Off it, new track, Fear, is a slow-burning piece of compelling repetition, seeing the band utilizing the most of their minimal approach.

LEATHERS is the synthpop/post punk act of Shannon Hemmett, also known as a member of ACTORS. Reckless is the artist’s new EP out on Artoffact Records, composed of four sharply put together tracks created over the course of a few years, since the project’s first appearance in 2017.

British shoegaze/dreampop project, a Lesser Version, continue developing, building toward the release of their album, Excess. New single, I Drown, is another fuzzy shoegazer with a slight slacker rock propensity which once more establishes the band’s potential.

Piroshka, the dreampop supergroup composed of members of Lush, Modern English, Moose and Elastica, will be releasing their new album, Love Drips And Gathers, on July 23rd, 2021 via Bella Union, and the new single, V.O., arrives as a tribute to the late, Vaughan Oliver, whose name is affiliated to the acclaimed releases of 4AD.

Not long after their very good recent album, Now Here's An Echo From Your Future, London punks, Girls In Synthesis, return with another strong new release, a five-song EP of much grit, energy and a darker vibe.

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form