D//E Playlist: Stream And Destroy Vol. 20

2020 got underway quite impressively, with anticipated albums announced, and strong singles coming left and right. A dozen of those we didn't cover individually, but which still grabbed our attention, comprise the first edition of Stream And Destroy for the new year.

Lately very much productive, Chromatics, followed their album, Closer to Grey, from late last year with a new single that marries the band's glittering synthpop with their cinematic qualities, while another synthpop act, the underrated Cold Beat signed to DFA and are consequently looking forward to more exposure, with  Prism being a promising first specimen from their upcoming album, Mother.

Canadian punks, Lié, will be releasing their fourth LP shortly, and the dark and nervy, Drowning in Piss, couldn't be more captivating owing to its bluntness, while Australian post punk trio, Cable Ties, are also readying the release of a new album, introduced with the ferocious Sandcastles. One of Sub Pop's freshest acts, LA's Moaning also announced their new album, and presented the more new wave-leaning first single, Ego. The bitter and agitated Sweet is the first example off the new record by Brighton up and comers, Porridge Radio, which finds the band in fine shape, while Ohio's Snarls deliver a sweet mixture of grunge pop and emo-bent alternative rock through their new single, Marbles.

New York hardcore punks, Drug Church, follow their acclaimed previous LP, Cheer, with a standalone single of pure punk rock immediacy, and they're about to go out on a tour with Thrice, mewithoutYou and Holy Fawn who have also an excellent release out, the weighty three-track EP, The Black Moon which follows their well received debut album, Death Spells from 2018. Chicago-based post hardcore band and one of those to keep and eye on, Slow Mass, have just put out a cool seven-inch including the forceful, Mal.

Composed of Dana Schechter (Swans) and Andy Patterson (SubRosa), Insect Ark revealed the celestial and quite ambitious cut, Philae off their upcoming album, The Vanishing, and the always great and consistent, Helen Money, will be delivering her next full length, Atomic, in March, off which the dark and sentimental Midnight comes characteristic of the artist's great ear for wistfulness and deft instrumentation.

01. Chromatics - TOY
02. Cold Beat - Prism
03. Lié - Drowning in Piss
04. Cable Ties - Sandcastles
05. Moaning - Ego
06. Porridge Radio - Sweet
07. Snarls - Marbles
08. Drug Church - Bliss Out
09. Holy Fawn - Candy
10. Slow Mass - Mal
11. Insect Ark - Philae
12. Helen Money - Midnight

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form