D//E Playlist: Stream And Destroy Vol. 18

Fall is the busiest time of the year for new music releases, which kept on coming aplenty. Vol. 18 of Stream and Destroy compiles some of the best from October 2019 that we did not get to cover more extensively.

Veteran noise rockers, Lightning Bolt, released their seventh studio album this month, and from it, not only because for its amazing title, Hüsker Dön't stands as one of the most memorable pieces the band has ever come up with.

Boston hardcore band, Vantage Point, emerge with their debut seven-inch EP which holds a lot of promise in only eight minutes.

New Jersey alternative rockers, Screaming Females, put out a great compilation of non-album recordings off which comes Ancient Civilization, originally on their 2013 split with Tenement.

The Orielles are readying their sophomore LP to be released on Heavenly in 2020, and introduce it with the charmingly jazzy, Come Down On Jupiter, while Danny Nogueiras from Fidlar, as NO WIN comes forth with a brand new EP, Blood on Your Tooth. Consisting of Joanna Gruesome members, Alanna McArdle and Owen Williams, Ex-Vöid, deliver an excellent two-track single, composed of a sweet indie pop cut and a ferocious punk killer, of which we included the first. San Diego's John Cooper and Chris Garcia, better known as Doom Bloom, bring together time-honored alt rock and shoegaze sounds on their classy debut EP, A Spiritual Epiphany?

A dark but really accessible synthpop gem, Private Show, is a strong highlight off Black Marble's just released new album, Bigger Than Life. The marvelous Isobel Campbell releases her first solo album in fourteen years, and on it she pays homage to the late Tom Petty with a wonderful cover version of Running Down A Dream.

On the back of a powerful new album, Weyes Blood, delivers an accompanying EP to Titanic Rising, composed of alternate takes of four songs from the well received, recorded with Ariel Rechtshaid, originally available bonus material with the Rough Trade edition.

With a heavy psychedelic rocking record which overflows with ideas, from here Portland’s Blackwater Holylight seem like competent successors to the genre's rich and tough to match history.

Post rock giants, MONO, offer their fans a treat with a new live-in-studio EP, coming out November 8th, 2019, on which they re-recorded some of their earlier material with Steve Albini at the Electrical Audio. Halo, originally on One Step More and You Die, is the first one we get to sample.

01. Lightning Bolt - Hüsker Dön't
02. Vantage Point - When the Dust Settles
03. Screaming Females - Ancient Civilization
04. The Orielles - Come Down On Jupiter
05. NO WIN - Blood On Your Tooth
06. Ex-Vöid - Only One
07. Doom Bloom - I Still Need It
08. Black Marble - Private Show
09. Isobel Campbell - Runnin' Down a Dream
10. Weyes Blood - Something to Believe (Rough Trade Session)
11. Blackwater Holylight - Motorcycle
12. MONO - Halo (Live From Electrical Audio)

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form