D//E Playlist: Stream And Destroy Vol. 16

The last volume of Stream And Destroy before the Fall compiles a dozen new tracks from June 2019 which weren't covered in depth, but still make an engaging and exciting listen.

Birmingham based band, Velvet Tides, support their already strong live reputation with their second single release in which they charmingly channel The War On Drugs, Slowdive, and DIIV, while Sydney's dark dreampop up and comers, Lorelei, have just revealed their debut single, a piece full of shoegaze pop enchantment.

Composed of veterans from the nineties Olympia music scene, garage-pop band Guidon Bear convey a lot of the quirky, indie rock tastefulness that the great K Records label delivered back in the day. Their album, Downwardly Mobile: Steel Accelerator, is out on the exquisite tape label, Antiquated Future Records.

We've heard her contribution to the most recent release by Trentemøller, but besides that, Lina Tullgren also announced her coming album on Captured Tracks, and introduced it with the weighty and forlorn single, Golden Babyland.

Tropical Fuck Storm also announced their album, Braindrops incoming in August via Joyful Noise, and the superb first single, Paradise, is here to prove how the band keeps getting better and better with time.

No introduction is needed for British post punk vets, New Model Army, who returned with a new track, echoing of the band's signature dark-inclined sound, and representative of their coming full length, From Here, also expected in August.

Minneapolis punks, Off With Their Heads, introduce their upcoming LP, Be Good, on Epitaph, with a dynamite of a single, the very much spirited, Disappear, coming with a notable video that involves a couple of heavyweights, director, Jonah Ray, and comedian, Kyle Kinane.

August releases keep piling up as Young Guv, the dreampop project of Ben Cook from Fucked Up and No Warning, is also expected to come through then with an album on Run For Cover, and Swedish instrumental act, Seabiscuit, will be delivering their absorbing combination of post rock and lo-fi sounds in the form of a debut LP, coming out on August 15th, 2019 through Black Hair Records.

After a long hiatus, and having shared stages with important bands like Caspian, And So I Watched You From Afar and Russian Circles, Danish post rock five-piece, The Shaking Sensations, will be following their acclaimed 2013 album, Start Stop Worrying, with their next LP, How Are We To Fight The Blight?, expected in October via Pelagic Records.

Veteran artist and steady David Lynch collaborator, Dean Hurley, has announced the second installment of his Anthology series on Sacred Bones, which from the first couple of tastes is already shaping up to be an unmissable listen, like the previous one; and another favorite, forward-thinking artist, Zombi's AE Paterra returns as Majeure, with a new record arriving in September via Holodeck.

01. Velvet Tides - Lost in Motion
02. Lorelei - I Am a Road
03. Guidon Bear - Hammer
04. Lina Tullgren - Golden Babyland
05. Tropical Fuck Storm - Paradise
06. New Model Army - End of Days
07. Off With Their Heads - Disappear
08. Young Guv - Every Flower I See
09. Seabiscuit - String Rush
10. The Shaking Sensations - Tremendous Efforts
11. Dean Hurley - Far Boundaries
12. Majeure - Longing, Love, Loss

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form