WIlliam S. Burroughs and Throbbing Gristle: Nothing Here Now But TheRecordings

Nothing Here Now But The Recordings was a collaboration album between WIlliam S. Burroughs and generative industrial UK band Throbbing Gristle, originally released in 1981 via Industrial Records.

Genesis P-Orridge and Peter Christopherson were friends with the legendary writer and while once they were visiting him at his New York home, went through the man’s recordings, ended up making experimental music over it and finally convinced Burroughs to let them release the record, which includes EVP recording techniques, cut-ups and generally all that defines Burroughs’ discography.

In January 2015, Nothing Here Now But The Recordings for the first time ever gets the reissue treatment via Dais Recordings, the label which has reissued other Throbbing Gristle related records as well, like those from Psychic TV, COUM Transmissions and others. This new reissue is goint to be limited to just 1,000 copies.

To get a small taste, here is the record’s closer, Last Words of Hassan Sabbah.


A1. "Captain Clark Welcomes You Aboard"
A2. "The Saints Go Marching Through All The Popular Tunes"
A3. "Summer Will"
A4. "Outside The Pier Prowed Like Electric Turtles"
A5. "The Total Taste Is Here" - News Cut-Up
A6. Choral Section, Backwards
A7. "We See The Future Through The Binoculars Of The People"
A8. "Just Checking Your Summer Recordings"
B1. Creepy Letter - Cut-Up At The Beat Hotel In Paris
B2. Inching - “Is This Machine Recording?”
B3. "Handkerchief Masks" - News Cut-Up
B4. "Word Falling - Photo Falling"
B5. Throat Microphone Experiment
B6. "It’s About Time To Identify Oven Area"
B7. Last Words Of Hassan Sabbah

Pre-order Nothing Here Now But The Recordings

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form