Stream And Destroy 02.18.22 // Weekly Roundup

Stream And Destroy is a weekly feature on D//E in which we round up tracks and releases we didn't cover canonically during the current week. It's complementary to our regular posts and publishes on Friday release day. Oddments from previous weeks may appear. The feature now comes with an accompanying playlist on Spotify.

Stream And Destroy posts are getting more jam-packed each time.

Dark Worship have released a music video for another piece off their first album, Flesh of A Saint, which releases on February 25th, 2022 via Tartarus Records. We've Always Been Here is inspired by the Swedish silent film Häxan, and features vocals by Joe Reed (To Dust, EXORCISME).

Swedish post rockers OH HIROSHIMA will release their fourth studio album, Myriad, on March 4th, 2022 via Napalm Records. The band’s Jakob Hemström says on their most recent single and video: "All Things Pass is a song about the constant flow of time and an embracing of the endless chain of changes it brings. We thought it would be nice to have a song with a clear chorus on Myriad, as that's something we haven't really had in the past, and we think this one did the trick. The video was once again directed by the band and filmed and edited by our drummer, Oskar."

Walk of Fame is another track off Rough Dimension, the upcoming album by VR Sex, out March 25th, 2022 via Dais Records. Skum comments: "In 2021, as Covid regulations began to lift and foot traffic in the city increased, myself and director Jai Love started frequenting the Hollywood Walk of Fame in an effort to document the present-day personalities that make up this colorful stretch of sidewalk. In our travels we befriended what some would call a Jesus impersonator who goes by the name of Jesse Christmas. While donning Christ-like garb and a crown of thorns, in no way does Jesse actually claim to be the second coming of Christ, nor does he profess any sort of religious dogma; he mostly just likes to walk around Hollywood Blvd. dressed as Jesus because according to him 'the dude had sick style.' When we approached him to be in our music video Jesse obliged but under one condition: He also wanted his rock n’ roll alter ego 'Clark Nova' to be featured. 'Walk Of Fame' is both an audio and visual chronicle of a day in the life of Jesse Christmas aka Clark Nova."

Duct Tape & Shivering Crows is a new rarities release by These Arms Are Snakes. Suicide Squeeze will release the double album on April 15th, 2022. Camera Shy was initially released as part of their split LP with Russian Circles.

A Place To Bury Strangers have released their fifth song and video, Love Reaches Out, off their new album See Through You. The video is also the third in a sequence of collaborations with horror movie filmmakers. This new one comes from Gabriel Carrier (For The Sake Of Vicious, The Demolisher) who says: “It reminds us not to turn a blind eye to the small things and that friendships can manifest in the most unlikely ways.

Psychic Graveyard and USA Nails will be delivering their new split release through SKiN GRAFT. The new record will coincide with Psychic Graveyard going on tour in the UK supporting METZ on April 1st, 2022.

Resentment is Always Seismic – a Final Throw of Throes is a companion mini-album to Napalm Death's newest, critically praised full length, Throes Of Joy In The Jaws Of Defeatism. “You can certainly consider Resentment Is Always... as an extension of - or partner recording to - the Throes… album. We had long since wanted to put a mini-album out – in the spirit of the old days – and found we had enough quality tracks even after all the Throes... bonus tracks to do that. Hopefully this mini holds some nice twists in its own right for people, and certainly covering People Pie by Slab! made us really stretch ourselves, which feels great artistically. In the end, resentment is certainly seismic – it can trigger the complete erosion of humanity in many situations. That was the point that I really wanted to hammer home overall,” states the legendary band's frontman Mark “Barney” Greenway. Resentment is Always Seismic (Dark Sky Burial Dirge) comes with a visualizer video created by Chariot Of Black Moth.

Matt Pike has released a video for the new Pike vs the Automaton track Land, with Brent Hinds, guitarist for Mastodon, appearing in both the song and the video. Pike describes: "Land was written after I had just come home from a tour. It's like an old blues song. I was thinking of it as like a bunch of old dudes in a subway doing a doo-wop thing. It has the feel of a two-step like my Mom used to dance to, like Country Western. It’s totally about depression and leading a hard life. Later, I was playing the song for Brent Hinds from Mastodon who had come out to Portland to jam with me and he laid down this smokin’-ass Billy Gibbons kind of solo! I did one solo and then he did his solo and I’m like, ‘You’re a dick,’ (laughs). The bass player from Brent’s other band West End Motel, Steve McPeeks, played some stand-up bass – both plucking and with a bow – and it really brought out this depth to the song. I’ve never written a song like that and recorded it and made it as cool as it is. It’s totally different.

Christian Death are back with a new full length, Evil Becomes Rule, which arrived on May 6th, 2022 via Season of Mist. The band has released the debut track, Blood Moon, coupled with a visualizer.

Quite a while after collaborating on the 2013 album, Event of Your Leaving as Raum, Liz Harris (Grouper) and Jefre Cantu-Ledesma have unexpectedly released their second full length together, Daughter.

Lingua Ignota released her own version of KATIE CRUEL, a traditional song which has been previously recorded by countless great artists including Karen Dalton, Odetta and Linda Thompson. Seth Manchester at Machines with Magnets mastered the track.

Dreampop band from Toronto Tallies have returned with a new track, Wound Up Tight, an expression of their more voluminous shoegaze side.

Ahead of their anticipated next album, Threes, heavy rockers Sweet Cobra unveiled a cover version of I’ve Been Riding With The Ghost originally by Songs:Ohia.

Killing Joke have announced their new EP, Lord Of Chaos, the band's first release in seven years, containing two new songs and reworks of tracks from their previous album, Pylon. “I’ve never known anything like the time we are living in now; not since the Cuban Missile crisis but now in comparison we have multiple flash points,” Jaz Coleman says. “Lord Of Chaos is about complex systems failure, when technology overloads and AI misreads the enemies’ intentions.

Beach House broke the release of their new album into four sections, and has been releasing each of them separately. The entire full length has just been out, and it’s a very interesting endeavor made from the band’s customary dreampop sound, and more synthpop leanings like the single Hurts To Love.

Godspeed You! Black Emperor's rare 1993 debut tape, All Lights Fucked On The Hairy Amp Drooling, was recently leaked online. The event was followed by an official release by the band. Efrim Manuel Menuck, who recorded the cassette mainly alone before forming the band as it is currently known, stated that he didn't embrace the leak, but recognized its value and decided to release it in an appropriate manner.

This World Is Going To Ruin You,'s anticipated sophomore album, comes out on March 4th, 2022 through Closed Casket Activities/Nuclear Blast. New single Wavery sees the band taking a bit of a different approach, delivering a more shoegaze-bent sound.

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form